< Back < Back


Roy Park Memorial Dinner

Reception and Dinner in honour of Dr Roy ParkOn Saturday 18 November, ex-students and colleagues, friends, current members of college and Roy Park’s family gathered for a tremendous dinner in hall to remember and celebrate the life and teaching of the famously unforgettable Glaswegian English fellow, who died in July 2019 at the age of 83.

Speakers Luke Harding (1987, English) and Armando Iannucci (1982, English) both paid memorable tributes to their erstwhile tutor, conjuring his glorious, straight-talking, fierce but nurturing nature, through funny and moving memories of their personal experiences as undergraduates. To round off the evening, Dr Robin Darwall-Smith (1982, Classics), Archivist, read a selection of wonderful anecdotes submitted in advance of the evening by attendees: Hazlitt, cigar smoke, brown corduroy furniture that swallowed you whole, Romantic passions, unflinching respect for hard work and for truth — the essence of Roy shone through.

Four people attending memorial dinnerAs Professor Helen Cooper, Honorary Fellow, who taught alongside Roy at Univ for many years, wrote afterwards: “Everyone talked about him with the same mixture of awe and affection — it was a wonderful occasion.”

Thank you to Amanda Brookfield (1979, English) for this wonderful report. 

The College is grateful to the many students, colleagues, and friends of Roy Park who have offered contributions in Roy’s memory (included below) to recognise his unwavering commitment to teaching and to the highest standards of academic achievement in the study of English literature. Please do get in touch with the Development Office if you wish to discuss this further. Martha Cass or Hattie Bayly would be delighted to hear from you. 

Nick Smith (1976)

Lord Chris Smith

Derek Grant (1973)

Martin Reader (1986)

Chris Thomson (1975)

Richard Clegg (1977)

Sarah McConnel (Drew) (1980)

Jonathan Earl (1977)

Keith Budge (1976)

Trevor Oney (1982)

Mike Deriaz (1978)

Alison Pindar (Ali Mercer) (1991)

Bill Quirke (1973)

Kirstie Hutchinson (1989)

Paul Hamilton (1972)

Alex Thomson (1980)

Beth MacNamee (1985)

Peter Topping (1978)

John Ballatt (1971)

Richard Dance (1990)

Emma Whiting (1987)

Susie Wilson (1994)

Mark Ashurst (1989)

Published: 20 December 2023

Explore Univ on social media
University College Oxford

Contact Univ

If you have any questions or need more information, just ask: