< Back < Back


Musical scholarships 2020

Univ MusicAt this time every year, the College confers scholarships for musical achievement on those members of the community who have been deemed to be active in either the Chapel Choir or the wider musical life of the College in other ways.

The College is delighted to announce that the following Univ students have been awarded Choral Scholarships in recognition of their continuing commitment to the Chapel Choir: Stuart MacGregor (2018 Engineering) and Marko Mayr (2017, Physics). The College also recognises non-Univ members who sing in the Chapel Choir and who become part of the life of the College. Anna Bailey (St Hugh’s) and Maryam Wocial (Lincoln) have therefore been awarded Choral Bursaries.

There have also been five Instrumental Scholarships awarded this year: Hannah Capstick (2019, Music) (flute), Sarah Chapman (2018, Chemistry) (violin), Marko Mayr (clarinet), Conor McGlone (2018, Music) (piano) and Judy Sayers (2019, DPhil Biology) (‘cello). There are a great many fine instrumentalists in our community and these five represent a small fraction of those players.

Congratulations to all our new musical scholars and bursars.

Lastly, it is hoped that as many as possible will take part in our Univ Virtual Orchestra project; a performance of Beethoven’s Ode to Joy details here.

Giles Underwood, Director of Music

Published: 13 May 2020

Explore Univ on social media

University College Oxford

Contact Univ

If you have any questions or need more information, just ask: