< Back < Back

Share

Univ Annual Football Day

Old Members’ Football Day - eventsSaturday 14 March 2020, Kick-offs from 11am
University College Sports Ground

All past and present members of Univ, their families and their friends are warmly invited to join us at the Annual Football Day at University College Sports Ground on Saturday, 14 March 2020. We hope to welcome over one hundred players and spectators for this fun, informal event.

Kick-off
Kick-offs will be from 11am (vets and women from 1pm) with the final games finishing about 3.45pm.

Lunch
There will be a light lunch (sandwiches and fruit) during the tournament followed by a hog-roast (with vegetarian option) from about 4pm and a big screen in the pavilion for the Six Nations Rugby. There will be a cash bar selling beer and soft drinks throughout the afternoon.

Admission
The all-inclusive price for players is:

£25 (including hog-roast and a £5 donation towards club funds)
£15 (without hog-roast but including a £5 donation towards club funds)
Concessionary price (for spectators, students & children aged 12 and over) of £10 (with hog-roast) and £5 (without hog-roast)
Free admission for children under the age of 12

Registration
Please click here to register online. Students can email Julie Boyle if they wish the charge to be put on their battels.

Games
Games are structured to suit all levels of fitness. Anyone who would like to play and has not already been in touch with a captain should email an appropriate captain directly or contact Peter Chambers p_j_chambers@yahoo.co.uk. Teams registered are:

Oranges (1970s) led by Bob Gamble bobgamble43@gmail.com and Richard Bridge lucanus99@hotmail.com
Blacks (Late-1980s) led by John Davis j.davis70@icloud.com
Reds (1990s) led by Matt Clothier matthewclothier@yahoo.com and Aman Mahal amanmahal@gmail.com
Dark Blues (Early-2000s) led by Nigel Holmes nigelmholmes@gmail.com
New Reds (Mid-2000s) led by Alex Watson alexpwatson@googlemail.com
Greens (Early-2010s) led by Sean Ogilvie seanogilvie1@icloud.com
Recent Grads (-2015) led by James Raftery james@raftery.myzen.co.uk
Light Blues (Univ JCR) led by George Bayliss george.bayliss@univ.ox.ac.uk
Yellows (Univ MCR) led by Marko Mayr marko.mayr@univ.ox.ac.uk
JCR Women led by Kate Chamberlain kate.chamberlain@univ.ox.ac.uk
OM Women led by Tory Erskine toryerskine@me.com

Call for volunteers
Any Referees or those who would like to volunteer to help out with games should contact Alex Watson alexpwatson@googlemail.com.

We would love to see more children there this year – there will be a “5 a side” pitch ready and waiting for them so do encourage them to join you.

Kit
Players should bring their own kit (according to their team’s colours and skipper’s instructions), shin pads and boots. Changing facilities are available.

Parking
As always, parking is limited and we ask that you use the Redbridge Park and Ride at the end of Abingdon Road.

Even if you are unable to take part on the pitch, we would still love to have you there to support your friends and family, or perhaps even to referee or run the lines. We very much look forward to seeing you in March – weather permitting!

Please note that the College is not responsible for any injuries suffered and Old Members participate at their own risk.

 

Please note that audio, photographs and video footage may be taken throughout our events. These may be used by the College for marketing and publicity in our publications, on our website and in social media or in any third party publication. Please contact the event organiser if you have any concerns or if you wish to be exempted from this activity.

Contact Univ

If you have any questions or need more information, just ask: